1979 British GP

The Riccardo Patrese Website, created in 1999, was the first site to pay tribute to the Italian driver who then held the record for the most Grand Prix starts in F1 history. Since then it has grown enormously, thanks to the contributions of many people, and is now the official Riccardo Patrese website run with the support of, and contributions from, Riccardo and his family.

This site had its’ origins in 1991 with my thought of writing a biography. I am not a journalist, nor had I ever attempted to write seriously before but I was fortunate to know someone who knew someone and managed to get interviews with both Riccardo and Alan Rees, both of which are reproduced here. It was not difficult to do research as I retain my boyish enthusiasm for motorsport, and so ‘having’ to buy the 1977 edition of Autocourse, among many other publications, to assist my ‘work’ was no great hardship. However, and despite contact with a publisher, it seemed unlikely that my book would progress with any great speed and time soon passed…

1999 - The first Riccardo Patrese website

The internet provided the opportunity to update my original idea and create an ‘e-biography’ which did not then exist. I was able to combine two interests while remaining true to my original objective.

Maybe the book will be written, maybe not, but the fact remains that Riccardo Patrese has a place in Formula One record books and, I hope, a fitting tribute on the world wide web.

Any errors you see here are mine and mine alone – but please let me know if you find them!! Every effort has been made to contact the owners of material reproduced on this site but if you wish to discuss the use of any such material, the site itself, or would like to contribute to the site please contact me.

Michael Day

Special thanks to:

Riccardo Patrese

“I want to thank you for the work on the website you have created of my racing career. I think it is very appropriate and beautiful.”

Simone Patrese

“The site is definitely the most complete source on my father’s career.”

Maddalena Patrese

Francesca Accordi

Joanna Cardwell-Fox

I’d like to thank the following for giving permission to reproduce their material on this website:

Ferdinand Trauttmansdorff | George Standaar | Sibo | Dennis Burnside | Michel Sterrenberg | Christian Reinsch | Dale Frye | David Malsher – Motor Sport | Rupert Lowes | Paul Field | Barry Boor | Pierre Tritten | Mathias Rufer | Bill Wood | Bob Vandenholt | Steve Fox | Carlos Ghys | Jim Caiella | David Lawson | Peter Kanger | Paul Kooyman | Eugene Cariaga – Getty Images | Bruno Vagnotti | Robert Murphy | Tom Wilkinson | Patrick Beckers | Paul Creed | Giorgio Marinelli | Jos De Boes | Hartmut Schulz | Hannah Crick | Gian Sottile | Geza Sury | Umberto Cattani | Dave Dyer | Chris Hook | Simon Panton | David Gordon | Laurence Foster – Autosport | Sergio Roseiro | Roger Dawkins | Joris Meuffels | Olaf Schneider | Francesco Falli | Simon Lewis | David Wall | Stuart Dent | Roger Clark | Mike Heselton | Gavin Scott | Cristian Mestres – Solo Auto Sport | Mark Burgess – Karting Magazine | Geoff Butcher | James North | Andrew Kitson | Phil Rainford | Kurt Oblinger | Alan Gillespie | Dave Heaney | Bruno Spoladore | Edwin Foubert | David Hayhoe | Daniel Overton | Steve Wilkinson | Jean-michel Lefebvre | Rainer Nyberg | José Miguel Barros – Forix | Cristiano Quaglia | Nick Poulter – Autocourse | Dave Davies | Aysedasi | Frank Meerding | Hiroshi Kaneko | Randy Owens | Heinrich Jansen | Simon Clark | François Belley | Lynn Haddock | George Gelakis | Luc Ghys | Hagen Hoffmann | Danny Marting | Martin Banaan | Miha Furlan | Rudi Venter | Alan Cox | Mark Fidell | John Robinson | David Lunn | James Cameron | David McKinney | Herman De Boes | Honda Racing F1 Team | David Holland | Jason Aranha | Linda Carlson | David Hutson | Matthew Walters | Peter Whelan | Dr Philip Newsome | Damien Smith – Motor Sport | Simon Taylor – Motor Sport | Tony Regan | Simon Strang – Autosport | Edd Straw – Autosport | Oskar Schuler | Julian Pepper | Dale Kistemaker | Jeroen de Laat | Mike Hewitt | BMW UK Motorsport | Tom Arnold | Rob Overy | Sky Sports | Richard Jenkins | Enrico Poddi | Larry Roberts | Roberto Gnudi | Alcide Boaretto | Chris McCarthy - Karting Magazine | Simone Santini | Natascia Di Maggio (Archivio Giorgio Nada Editore) | Luca Rontini | Mattia Grandi | Micaela Naldi (Bonora Agency) | Andrea Bonora (Bonora Agency) | Alessio Militello Bonini

Thanks also to:

João Paulo Cunha | Alan Rees | Goran Manov | Stefan Ornerdal | “tifoso” | Aaron Wood | Gerhard Berger | Patrick Head | Orlando Ferreira | Paulo Campos | Remi Humbert | Chris Gray | Scott Fulmer | Steve Chase | Frank de Jong | Ulrich Lux | Allen Brown | Mario Andretti | Nick Forsythe | Carlo Fiorentini | Lee Morrison | Gionata Ferroni | Gerald Swan | Martijn Torenbeek | Richard Perry | Alain Sam-Lai | Darren Galpin | “bobi” | Mike Fairholme | Siegfried Stohr | Ann Bradshaw | Simon Lowes | Kazuhiro Ichimura | John Humphries | Salvatore Chiofalo | Roy Craig | Philip Hall

This website contains material protected by copyright. Any type of publication, copying, broadcasting or retransmission of the site content without prior permission of the copyright holder is prohibited.